Many people believe that public facilities (e.g. zoos, museums, parks)should be free. Other people think that you should pay to use these facilities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Most cities provide several kinds of recreational public places such as zoos, museums, or parks for their citizens to support their quality of life. However, there are different opinions about how to manage it. A group of people thinks that citizens should be charged to entry. Others, including me, believe it should be accessed freely without any additional charges. On the one side, paying for public facilities has good benefits. One of all is government fund is limited whereas the places like museums, zoos or parks need money to give better services. That is why the fees are needed to develop infrastructures or add new collections; whereas the government have to prioritize providing basic needs like healthcare or primary education. The other reason is pushing the management to be more responsible to serve the visitors. Since the visitors have to pay, so the management has to guarantee the worth of it. On the other side, there are several reasons why people must not be charged to enter all public places. The first reason is that it is citizens’ right to enjoy public facilities including for refreshing. Since the citizens are required to pay taxes, the government should give good and comfortable services. In addition, the taxes are supposed to allocate to build and maintain public facilities including these recreational areas, for instance, paying for the expenses such as manpower, electricity, and cleaning fee. The other reason is that expanding access for the whole society is important. In fact, not every citizen has excessive funds to spend, and some of them are literally under the poverty line and cannot afford additional fees when they come to the park. If entry passes are free, everyone will have equal opportunities to get an advantage of them. For example, everyone can learn about animals at the zoo, study cultures in museums, or hang out in the parks. In conclusion, paying additional fees may be useful to get more excellent services. Nevertheless, there are also essential grounds to offer free passes, which I definitely agree with the right of people’s tax spending and ensuring all access to all residents. It will probably establish the quality of life for everyone easily.