Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

The knowledge transfer method has always been a critical point in education. Some people advocate the idea that graduates should be provided with the major knowledge and skills helping them to be more confident in working environments after graduating. Others believe universities need to supply general expertise to colleges even if these classes are plausible to them or not. In my view, there are 2 main functions of universities explained in this essay. On the one hand, the majority of universities teach colleges general knowledge because they might need those skills after graduating. The main function of a university is to provide a stable base for colleges. Hence, some courses could be unnecessary to some people but these might help them in the long run because there is a high chance that colleges cannot pursue the job that they thought they will do. For example, my older sister pursued international study, however, she is selling clothes and footwear online at the moment which is not related to her major at all but there was a lot of courses about finance such as marketing when she was a freshman helping her to earn for a living regardless of the major she has studied for 4 years. On the other hand, overall expertise could be a vital point but soft skills are also equally important. There is research reported that over 50 per cent of the graduates don’t have soft skills needed in their workplaces. As a result, they become a low-class office worker who spends most of their time sitting in front of computers without any chance of position development. Hence, attending language classes or widening relationships are also critical investments that colleges should do when they are studying at a university. In conclusion, Although a university's top priority is to impart general knowledge, opening soft skills courses, such as English or outdoor activities, could help participants to be more well-rounded.