Some people store personal and private information online, including banking, contacts and addresses. Is it a positive or negative trend?

With the rapid development of internet technology, people’s lives become increasingly convenient. This can be reflected in the handiness of storing personal information online. Nevertheless, I personally believe the defects outweigh the merits. On one hand, being violated should rank as the primary concern when we are dealing with online personal information. First and foremost, identity theft should be the most possible trouble when we have left our identification online once. These thefts can easily access your personal data and retrieve your login data for various websites, or even worse they will commit cybercrimes such as treating others under your identification and therefore ruin your online reputation record. Another very common threat is your financial security. Cybercriminals can take your banking password and make unauthorized withdrawals, purchases, and transfers. Although many financial websites are now encrypted, there are still ways for people to steal your money away. Therefore, bearing the security issue in mind, we should be really cautious about putting our personal addresses or bank accounts online. On the other hand, when it comes to our future development, online personal information can also lead to possible hindrances in life. Whether you are considering your academic career or employment opportunities, you should always be careful of what you upload on your social media account, because the university and company will definitely consult from those contents online in order to make a sensible judge on whether they would accept you or not. Of,course we might say that as long as we always post good things or normal things online, that won’t be a big deal. However, you cannot always be certain about your personal thoughts towards a particular topic is perfectly match the code of the academy or firm you’re applying for. Consequently, you might lose the opportunity for your future career simply because you allow people to get to know you too much! To summarize, even though posting personal information online can avoid many inconveniences in life, concerning the issues of security and personal future development, I strongly hold to the point that we should try to delete as many private clues as possible online.