In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globally, childhood obesity have become a significant public health problem and an important risk factor for adverse health outcome later in life. Some people believe that the government should be responsible for preventing this. Healthy lifestyle, in my opinion, should be the responsibility of everyone. This thesis will provide valid points for my argument and provide a logical conclusion. There are numerous roles of government in preventing and controlling overweight in children. Firstly, policy makers should pass bills that will sufficiently check risky health habits. This, as a consequence, will gradually but effectively bring this issue to a halt. For example, increasing the tax on food and beverage companies will naturally result in a proportionate rise in the prices of these items to a level that most families cannot afford. Similarly, a high tax value on electronics and other similar devices will either inflate the overall cost of these gadgets or force the industries to go into liquidation. As a result, more children would be encouraged to play outside than watch TVs. Additionally, laws that will compel students to participate in daily physical fitness games should be put in place. Government and political efforts notwithstanding, other agents of societal change, such as the school and family have even greater responsibilities on their shoulders. Parents should devote quality time to prepare, according to age and need, the appropriate meals for their offspring. A balanced diet, along with a twice daily sports regimen is essential for favourable healthy living. Likewise, it is the duty of proprietors of schools to enforce fitness training as part of their curriculum hence, promoting a regular as well as an effective habit in pupils. Moreover, children learn by emulating adults. Accordingly, parents and caregivers should lead adequate examples for their wards by engaging in active aerobics. To conclude, increasing body mass index, with it's associated drawbacks, among our youngsters is a cause for concern. Admittedly, governments' role in curbing this problem is paramount. However, every individual has a part to play in the fight against this issue.