Advances in science and technology and other areas of society in the last 100 years have transformed the way we live as well as postponing the day we die. There is no better time to be alive than now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is undeniable that scientific and technological advancements have helped people’s lives to become much more convenient in the past few decades. However, I do not agree with the idea that it is the best time to be alive as I believe people in the present are also facing their own issues. Looking back in the past, despite the lack of technological advances, our ancestors used to spend a lot of quality time with their families. Everyone would always manage to find some time to have a chat over meals and bond with their beloved ones regularly. For example, parents would hang out with their children at a park at the weekends or on holidays. Even though they had to rely mainly on physical labour as there were not many heavy machines, they worked hard happily in the hope that it would make both ends meet for their families. On the other hand, life today has become much easier thanks to improvements in transportation and technology. Communication is no longer a problem since we can travel to the other corner of the world in hours or reach a friend within a click in just seconds irrespective of physical location. A higher life expectancy is another result of medical developments. In other words, a person can delay their death with the aid of advanced medical equipment and treatments or even choose to die painlessly. On the contrary, all these advances come at a price. With the coming of advances in technology, people spend most of their time using social media platforms, which results in isolation and depression. Furthermore, a huge number of vehicles cause air pollution, which has become worrisome for citizens, and noises from factories are having a terrible effect on the quality of life. To conclude, even though modern advancements have transformed our way of living so that every task becomes easier, it does not necessarily mean the present time is the best for people to live as we all are having several social and environmental problems.