Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Foreign products have become more popular in recent years in comparison with local ones. Although this issue is happening due to a specific reason, I believe it is a negative trend This popularity among shops is mostly related to the farming potentials of a country. In some areas such as north cities in Iran, for example, rice and tea could be produced better while in other areas such as Abadan, in the south of Iran, the date would easily grow. This would be caused by the climate and natural resources such as water or the quality of soil in a region. However, if global warming continues, this diversity will be affected and fewer types of food would be available, leading to malnutrition or at worst, famine. It seems to me as a negative development because of its effects on economic prosperity and dependency. Lack of use of locally produced food may discourage farmers and people who are working in this field, resulting in more unemployment and poverty. In this case, governments have to spend money to compensate for this issue instead of investing in infrastructure and education. Another drawback is that a country will become dependent on countries that produce the products it needs if supermarkets do not sell local foods. This would lead to a vulnerability of sanctions or other threats. In conclusion, supermarkets mostly sell foreign foods because some of which are not produced locally while they are popular among people, but in my opinion, this trend would be economically and independency harmful.