Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions are divided on whether museums charge for admission or not. In my opinion, the drawbacks of charging people for admission take precedence over the benefits. I will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages in detail in this essay before presenting a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, the admission charges for museums and art galleries aid in keeping these places running and paying wages to the workforce. With regards to the former, there are obvious expenses to maintain these buildings such as the bills of electricity and water. Income is required to fulfil these expenditures; therefore, admission fee helps in paying off these bills. Secondly, the working staff, which is available in these premises to maintain antiques and artefacts of historical importance, has to be paid. For instance, the National Art Gallery Lahore pays 80% salaries of its 102 staff members by the money collected from the entrance fee. On the other hand, it is evident that the entrance charges discourage many tourists who have tight budgets. Therefore, it will reduce visitors to museums. A recent survey in Africa found that 50% of people avoided visiting art galleries because of admission fee. Moreover, another significant drawback is the loss of cultural interests. For example, if the majority do not prefer to visit museums due to financial troubles as they are unable to pay entry charges, the culture and history of ancient civilizations will be eventually lost. In conclusion, although entry fee in art galleries and museums assists in the maintenance and paying salaries of staff, it will bring a limited number of visitors to these destinations which can lead to the erosion of culture and traditions. Therefore, I believe that its merits are eclipsed by its demerits.