It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning history is an important part of the school curriculum. It is debated that learning the history of one's own region is more important than the knowledge of world history. This essay does not agree with the suggestion that local history is more important. This essay will initially discuss how learning international history extends a student's knowledge beyond his country and increases his opinion about world politics. By knowing more about international history, a student can gain information about the culture, tradition, geography and renowned leaders of various nations. It will give him a better grasp of the world beyond his surroundings, as well as teach him to apply that education to the local context. For example, if a Bangladeshi pupil learns about how the native people were robbed of their ancestral lands in the United States, it would give him a better understanding of the treatment of indigenous people in Chittagong. He will gain access to intelligence that is not present in his local stories. This is why it is important to know about the stories of other countries to increase a disciple's wisdom. In addition to that, the children can understand international affairs more clearly if they know about the past of the affected countries. If there is a conflict in any part of the world, learning about that particular region's early story would enable them to identify the reasons. For instance, if a kid needs to understand the Israeli-Palestine conflict, he would need to have an idea of how Israelis colonized Palestine after World War I. This would enable him to go to the root of the conflict. It would not be possible to relate to international news without being informed about the nation's past. In conclusion, it can be stated that learning international history enables school children to expand the borders of their knowledge as well as learn about international incidents. Thus, I disagree with the notion that it is more necessary to know about local history than world history.