Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the highly controversial issues today is whether every crime should be punished with a certain fine or it needs to be put on judgment carefully for each case of offence before penalties are imposed. In this essay, I am going to shed some light on both points of view and extend my partial support to the second statement that we should consider the situation of the criminal before sentencing somebody. On one side of the argument, people believe that fixed punishments help to promote equality in the application of the justice system. There is no arbitrary or indiscriminate penalty that would be inflicted. For instance, a murderer for any purpose definitely is sentenced a life in prison. In addition, informing the fixed punishments to everyone can raise people’s awareness of not committing some particular crimes. On the other side, it is extremely crucial for concerning the circumstance of some crimes before we end up with a fine. This belief explains the existence of several lawyers and articles of law. As we can see, there are some cases in those offenders killed or caused injury in acts of self-defense. Or in some emergency situations, we have no choice but running the red lights or over the speed limit. It is totally not fair if every crime in any situation is charged in the same ways. In conclusion, though fixed penalties are required for a better society, I strongly think that the reasons for crimes should be listened to and put into consideration before imposing punishments.