People today are spending more and more time at the office and less time at home. What are the reasons for this trend? What can be done to increase free time?

In recent times, individuals are spending more hours in their work -space than at their homes. Throughout this essay, I will explore the reasons for this phenomenon and suggest possible solutions, by which a person is allowed to spend life with his family and friends, while pursuing his other interests. To start with, one of the major reasons for the non-availability of time for spending in leisure activities and at one's residence is due to an increase in the job pressure at the office. Moreover, back to back meetings, non-understanding clients along with stringent deadlines of work assignments, leaves very little time for a person to dwell on other activities besides his job. For instance, most people sit in office after the stipulated office hours to complete their work or in extreme situations may even work during weekly offs. Furthermore, lack of flexibility of working from any location makes matter worse, as an individual spends a considerable amount of time in commuting to his organisation's location, which rather could have been spent with his family or friends. One possible solution to ensure there is a work -life balance among the employees, would be for companies to have strong human resource policies in place, stipulating the number of hours in a day that a person should spend time in his office, after which he is allowed to take his work home. Also, it is the responsibility of the line manager to see that the employee's work bandwidth is not exceeded and work is distributed evenly among all the workers, which will further ensure that the person is allowed some free time to indulge in other activities. Another practical solution is having work arrangements where a person does not necessarily have to come to the office and can work from any location as per his convenience. For example, with the advent of the covid virus, work from home was adopted by all major conglomerates worldwide and was pretty succesfull. To conclude, there are numerous reasons for a person spending additional time in office rather than at home, the most noticeable being inflexibility in the work environment and additional assignments. However, by adopting certain practices, time can very well be equally distributed between job and home.