In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the past the advertisements emphasized on their products’ quality but in this modern days, most companies are advertising their products have something new. I believe this development has been compounded by two factors: claiming that there is new feature acquires more attentions from customers and makes their brand unique in the market. In this essay, I’ll explain this is a negative development because it urges people to buy new things while it is not even a need to do so as well as effects the environment indirectly. The first reason is that businesses can bring more buyers under their brand by declaring that there is new invention in it because it stands out from the competitors and also the crowd would think that is unique which can’t be found in other products. For example, psychologically, everyone is more likely to be fascinated and feeling excited to test out a new thing which they have never experienced before. The second fact is that introducing new versions regularly can gain the brand royalty from the existing consumers. They believe the new version would offer better service and quality than the older one and hence, they would keep buying whenever the new versions of the same product is introduced into the market. Take iPhone, for example. I reckon that this is a negative development as it makes the population to buy unnecessary new things regularly. And also there is much possibility that the older ones would be wasted while they are still in the good condition to be used. According to environmental scientists, our world is now piled up with the wastes which will not be decomposed even after thousand years. It results environmental pollution. Moreover, the more demands cause the more production and as a consequence, it leads to global warming as more carbon is generated from production factories. In conclusion, in these days, more and more commercials are highlighting that their commodities are new in some way just to stand out from their rivals as well as to attain more interests from the consumers. However, I feel that it results bleak outcome for our environment.