Schools should only teach academic subjects like math and science, and disregard nonacademic subjects like music and sports. Do you agree or disagree?

There are people who propose that educational programs should concentrate more on the essential academic subjects to decongest curriculums and benefit students more. Nevertheless, I personally find it imperative that schools pay equal attention to both academic and non-academic courses so as to produce well-rounded leaders of the future. In any given career path, a person is expected to generate creative ideas and ingenious solutions, which are precisely what art and music classes develop in individuals. These subjects challenge students to think outside the norm and widen their imaginations, giving them the ability to turn common statistics into inspired schemes. In fact, many students realize that their talents are so attuned to these special interest courses that they become professionals at it. More importantly, through non-academic subjects, students unconsciously acquire values and traits that are essential to shaping their personalities. By engaging in sports, children learn the importance of sportsmanship, team work and fair play. On the other hand, music instills in them the values of perseverance, diligence and discipline. All these are only some of the many advantages to be obtained from taking the time to participate in the said classes. Undoubtedly, math and science are the basics of most fields of expertise; nevertheless, most companies also look to the attitude and the ability of the individual to be a team player. With today’s highly competitive work arena, applicants have to be holistically equipped to get the job. In order for that to happen, students need to concentrate on major and minor subjects to harmoniously exercise both sides of their brains. Therefore, I conclude that music, art and physical education all have their respective purposes in a child’s growth. They add a sense of refinement and culture into the behaviors of the youth, while at the same time letting children discover untapped talents and resources. Schools must therefore be encouraged to include all the said minor courses in their curriculums.