Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little can be done to rectify this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The media is a crucial element in our daily life. And in modern society, the media has much more impact on our thinking with the rise of social media. Some even claim that it is impossible to eliminate the effects of the media. In the following, I argue that it is not the case. It is true that the media is powerful to influence people's minds and to think today. In particular, social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, by their secret algorithm, can control which content users read. For instance, they can selectively deliver messages, such as speeches of specific politicians, to their users. In this way, the media holders seemingly can affect people's political attitudes to fulfill their own interests. However, I argue that there are ways to resist the media's impact. One way is by education. School teachers can design courses to strengthen students' media literacy. In the lessons, teachers can critically examine the content given by the media with their students. By doing so, teachers can let students understand that information from the media may not be correct or with bias and realize that they should not entirely believe in those messages. Apart from that, governments can formulate laws to restrict the operation of the media. More specifically, these laws can request social media to disclose their secret algorithm to a certain extent. These laws can also empower the government's rights to monitor the media. For instance, the government can investigate the relationship between the media holders and the politicians. By doing so, the media cannot freely manipulate which messages be delivered to their users just by their own interests. In short, I agree that the media has a great impact on us, though I contend that there are still various ways, such as by education and by formulation of laws, to prevent the media completely from taking over our minds and thinking.