Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Most would opine that in the current era communities need experts in certain fields that are very important to humans like health. Hence, many would opine that government should sponsor only students who study these subjects. However, to develop a happy and caring person, people should have an interest in entertainment and sports as well. Hence, this writer believes that the advantages of the given notion are far less than its disadvantages. To begin with, when we consider the important subjects for survival for a society like health, most governments would like to give scholarships for students who engage with these subjects. Furthermore, governments are expecting them to study well and serve the nation and the world by healing and protecting them from diseases. For instance, according to a World Bank report published in 2018, most governments around the world are interested in providing scholarships to university students who engage with medical sciences more than other subjects. On the other hand, as,humans although we may survive with diseases by using medicine or vaccines, to live a happy and prosperous life we have to have a caring mind about others. To develop this kind of mind to others, we need some stimulations like entertainment and sports. For instance, according to recent research conducted by the University of Oxford, they have found that entertainment is the capital requirement for developing a human who cares about other-selves. Hence, to uplift the quality of these fields governments should sponsor the students of those fields as well. In conclusion, even though people are more interesting about upgrade the quality of major subjects like health, to develop a happy and complete person, they must have a good heart and entertainment and sports are important to build such a complete person. Hence, this writer opines that government sponsoring to limited areas of students will give more negative developments than positive ones.