Some people think that it is the responsibility of the government to take care of the environment,while others believe that it is the responsibility of the people to take care of the environment.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals are of the opinion that the government is saddled with the responsibility of protecting the environment while others are of the contrary view that individuals should play the principal role. This essay agrees with the latter view that the main drivers of any meaningful change are the individuals as their respective little contributions add up to a tremendous effect that is productive. The essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, the government has a strong influence in driving positive change in the activities of individuals and industries that can help to restore the environment. By restricting through laws and sanctions, human and industrial activities can increase the carbon footprints, and promote global warming through the greenhouse effect. These activities include bush clearing and burning by individuals, and large factories through the burning of fossil fuels can be checked by proactive governmental measures, thus making the community safer. On the other hand, the government cannot achieve any meaningful change without relying on the people who should be considered the major drivers of positive change. For example, it is the individuals who worked in large companies, and in their various capacities as respective entities can cultivate lifestyles that will not be harmful to the environment. Besides they can also agitate for change through the formation of a movement that will push the government to take actions that will help safeguard the environment like using a green energy source that is environmentally friendly rather than resorting to fossil fuels. In conclusion, while the government supervises that the environment is safe the biosphere, in my opinion, they need to make use of individuals as the major force to achieve these changes, and as such, the individuals appear to be the most important change agents toward conserving the environment.