Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that community service should be a part of high school education. This essay does not agree with the suggestion because of the burden it puts on the students. This essay will initially discuss why pupils should focus more on their studies instead of serving the community and why it is unfair to the less solvent students. As the disciples graduate to high school, the pressure of their studies increases rapidly. They hardly get the time to focus on other activities. For example, an institution in the United States published the average grades of its students after introducing communal work. It was observed that the grades have dropped by 20% from the previous year. This was due to the students getting less days to prepare before their exams due to compulsory charity work. Hence, communal service serves as an extra burden to the students ' daily lives. There are many students whose families are not able to support them properly. They have to do various jobs in order to continue their education. For instance, the data obtained from a low-tier government-funded high school shows that 40% of their students are employed in shops and stores around the campus to earn some extra money. If unpaid community service is enforced, it will be tough for them to manage the hours to continue this parallelly with their study and job. As a result, they would be forced to terminate their employment to allocate time. In conclusion, though unpaid community service might bring some benefits it will create serious havoc in the disciple's study routine and obstruct them from doing part-time jobs. Therefore, I do not support the idea of mandatory social welfare.