Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree ?

Sugar is an important source of energy for the body and has various benefits since it could absorb quickly and be used immediately. However, consuming high sugary contents could be more harmful than beneficial. Many manufactured food and drink products such as fast food contain excessive sugar that the body needs. Therefore, I agree that we should increase the price of sugary products. Consuming high sugary products such as sugary drinks, candies, baked goods, sweetened dairy products, and fast food could negatively affect our bodies in various aspects. Eating these kinds of food could lead to some serious health-related diseases such as obesity, diabetes, heart disease, and tooth decay. In addition, sugar lacks nutritional value. Adding them to food and drinks significantly increases their calorie contents without adding any nutritional benefits. Increasing the price of sugary products is the best way to reduce health problems in order to change consuming behaviours. For example, if healthy food is cheaper than fast food, people tend to healthier food. Moreover, when people tend to buy less sugary products, it would encourage manufacturers to produce products with less amount of sugar. Thus, sugar consumption would reduce significantly. Thus, it would reduce overall health issues. To summarize, consuming high sugary products results in serious health-related issues. Hence, increasing the price of sugary products could decrease the consumption rate of this kind of food and also prevent the occurrence of health issues. Additionally, it would also motivate producers to reduce the amount of sugar in their products.