Some people say that the economic development is necessary to reduce the poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stopped immediately to stop damaging the environment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Economic activity is paramount in the fight against poverty. This, however, is not possible without an alteration to the natural environment. While some are of the opinion that economic growth is important in poverty reduction, others disagree and think commercial projects should be stopped in order to protect the environment. Although the activities of man are relatively harmful to the natural habitat, it is not possible to completely stop development programs. On the one hand, advancement in the economy will indirectly improve the standard of living of the people. This will naturally result in more job opportunities for the citizens, quality education, reduction in crime rates and other social unrest. As a consequence, anti-social behaviours and deviancy will be reduced to the barest minimum. For example, in Canada, advances in commercial programs have led to poverty eradication and an improvement in the quality of lives of the citizens, so much to attract international attention. On the other hand, development projects cannot be carried out without damaging the natural habitat of man. Industries and industrialization do not only cause noise pollution but air pollution as well. Carbon dioxide emitted by heavy types of machinery gets to the atmosphere as a greenhouse gas, resulting in the so-called greenhouse effect in which the earth's temperature rises above normal with adverse consequences. For example, in the UK journal of medicine and health, it was stated that carbon dioxide emission accounted for about 62.7 per cent of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. This led to a rise in the earth's temperature by about 0.5 degrees. Additionally, man's activity in the ecosystem has led to the extinction of some species of animals and other creatures of biological importance. In conclusion, commercialization and industrialization are requisites for advancing the economy. While systems could be put in place to reduce the effects on the environment, it is not possible to bring economic activities to a complete halt.