Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many individuals are migrating abroad for different reasons such as study. Residing abroad where you have to converse in a foreign language other than one's native tongue can bring social as well as everyday challenges. This essay would argue why residing in a foreign country can cause social and practical challenges. To begin with, the main challenge is the communication barrier. If a person is unable to effectively interact with the local residents, this can make one feel isolated. This is because relationships require communication and this can be challenging especially when one does not have a strong command of the language spoken. This situation can make one feel unwelcomed in one's community. In some instances, this could lead to depression and disconnection from society. Many people may argue that one should learn a foreign language but this is not an easy situation because learning a language can be very difficult. In addition, when living in a country there are occasions in your everyday life when using the language is unavoidable. For example, in cities like Korea, where bus stops are written in Korea. Therefore, if you are a foreigner, it could be difficult to know where to highlight. It is comparatively true when one goes to the market for grocery shopping. In conclusion, I agree that the language barrier can cause social and practical challenges. It is impossible for one to form relationships with the locals without the interaction in their language. However, language affects daily activities when you live in another country.