Today, advanced science and technology have made great changes to people’s life, but artist such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is true that the development of science and high-tech contribute to a quite different world. While I still understand that newborn technic leads to a more colourful life for people, I still believe that art is necessary to most people. On the one hand, the industrial revolutions do benefit a lot the human-beings, with highly advanced innovations. For example, with the appearance of endless new products, like aeroplane, trains and cars, people could enjoy the faster and more efficient transportation system, resulting in spending more time on the vacation itself other than the trip on road. Furthermore, ordinary people have more opportunities to access more information and bits of knowledge, due to the booming of the Internet. In contrast, arts offer people a chance to shake their souls, which provides humans with something different from that given by science. On the other hand, unlike science just gives the sense of satisfaction by Material, art contributes to the satisfaction in everyone’s mind. The masterpieces, created by great artists, are read from person to person from century to century. Moreover, the art is that normal people could have the right to give their opinions and understandings, while the science is sometimes too hard and difficult for ordinary to understand. What art could give humans is not calculation and numbers, and it could illustrate mankind the power of feelings and emotions. In conclusion, although technology and science are beneficial to the whole society and high-living standards, the arts provide humans with the opportunity to reach truly mental satisfaction and enable us to have a various senses of feelings.