Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Some people suggest that the circumstances of a crime and the reason for committing it should be taken into consideration when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

At this present time, there are various opinions regarding choosing punishments for different types of crime and whether punishment should be fixed or it should vary depending on the reason for committing or circumstances. In addition, there have been so many debates between the two sides but so far it seems like they haven't reached an agreement.In my view, both the circumstances and the cause of a crime should be taken into consideration. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view. To begin with, the first group of people have a more conventional solution that suggests we must give a fixed punishment to each crime, which has been the way in so many countries and the main benefit of this is the prohibition of corruption in the justice system. For instance, in a fair system, people shouldn't be able to use their personal connections to change their own or others' sentences. Therefore, having a fixed punishment can inhibit corruption in the justice system. On the other hand, another group of people believe that the circumstances and the reason for committing a felony should be considered which can help the court to be fairer to defendants. for example, health-related issues such as mental problems can affect the way the public behave which means they have less control of themselves. Thus, considering the cause and circumstances of a felony in these situations can be an immense help to reach a fair sentence, so it is better to have a more flexible punishment selection method. In conclusion, having a fixed or flexible method to choose a punishment is still being discussed and they all have their own advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, the circumstances of a crime and the reason for committing it should be taken into consideration. Meanwhile, it is recommended for governments to commence investigating this matter and try to remove all of the negative effects of the currently used method.