Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain people are of the opinion that due to the advent of supermarkets in some countries,small local enterprises will not be able to thrive, which will further lead to closure of local communities. I am a proponent of this theory and firmly believe that local businesses are vital to keep communities together and in its absence can cause its disintegration. Throughout this essay, I will provide reasons for my belief with substantiation. To begin with, small businesses are indigenous to the community and hence their lifeline. Furthermore, the residents are able to relate more with the local shops and grocery stores,rather than with large and fancy supermarkets. Since most of the local stores are old establishments, people in the community have developed inter-personal relationships over a prolonged period of time. Hence, the store owners understand the requirement of the customers and go out of their way to cater to their needs. In contrast, supermarkets are mostly indifferent to the people frequenting their place and have a more professional approach. Therefore, lacking the warmth of the community shops. For instance, Wallmart one of largest supermarket chain in the USA is even in talks to automate its complete customer service, which will further distance the gap between people interaction. As a result, the feeling of being cared will dissapear, as it was for small businesses. I also believe that local businesses contribute significantly to the local economy of the communities. As employment opportunities are generated within the individuals residing in the communities, rather than being outsourced from outside, as is the case for large establishments. Moreover, since the scale of business is small and based on relationships, profitability doesnt take precedence over quality. For example, many a time, expired or spoilt products are sold in supermarkets at a discounted price in order to get rid of their inventory, causing greivances for the consumer. To conclude, local kiosks, stores, shops, grocery stores and any form of enterprise are imperative for the functioning of local communities, not only do they contribute to the economic progress of the communities but also ensure that a sense of bonhomie is maintained along with getting good quality service.