Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer possible solutions to it.

For years Literacy and numeracy had been viewed as two important subjects, which should be taught at schools to nurture better generation, but recently people are taking a fresh look at it, and replacing them with other subjects. A great number of reasons and solutions are being suggested by expert for this phenomenon. The following essay will overlook some of these rationales which are proceeding with some solution. The most recent changes that happened both in the educational means and human lifestyle resulted in undermining these two subjects. Firstly, the educational system is now based on students preference compared to the past, which teachers had the control on the subjects. For example, a great number of modern institutes are providing optional subjects and leave these two subjects in a group of courses that students should choose from. Therefore, as the youngsters prefere sports and arts mostly over literacy and numeracy, these subjects have been neglected. Moreover, novel subjects are more essential for the next generation due to the improvement of the twentieth century. Learning computer's system is a good example. This means that the subject which are not necessary in our day-to-day lives are not priorities. Despite the above-said reasons are grave, the solutions are feasible. One of the most practical solution is to make these subjects attractive for the students. For instance, asking the famous people to talk about the necessity of them will move the attentions toward them. In addition, trying to integrate them in the new subjects might help this problem to be solved. To illustrate, teaching computers by using the literacy as the context that students use to practice the computers' systems might be practical. To sum up, literacy and numeracy are being forgotten due to the student-focused educational system and the appearance of new subjects. I believe that by making the means of teaching them attractive and combining them with other lessons, they will return to the popular subjects.