Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that there should be a certain testing passed by bicycle riders before they are allowed to pedal on public roads. This essay completely disagrees with this idea because cyclists would rarely exceed the speed limit and this testing will deter people from cycling and increase the use of non-environmental-friendly transportation. Numerous people pedal on roads that are immensely enjoyable and rarely exceed the speed limit. This is because bicycles do not have engines and simply use chains and wheels to move. People rarely drive expeditiously as it is strenuous for them to pedal fast. For example, in most cases, the average speed of a cycle would be between 20 to 30 km/hour, which is not so dangerous. Instead of giving a test to the cyclists, it is always better to allot separate lanes for them. An exclusive lane for cyclists not only ensures their safety on roads, but also allows smooth traffic. Another reason is testing requirements would deter cyclists from riding and they prefer to use non-environmentally-friendly vehicles. Rather than paying for the tests or fulfilling the requirements, people will prefer travelling by public transportation, such as bus or train. This will increase air pollution as global issues. For example, In Japan, most students pedal to their school and if the government strictly regulates driving tests, for instance heft fee or certain age requirement, those students will not be eligible to use the pedals on the road and they will choose to go by bus or train. In conclusion, there is no need to regulate cyclists to be on public roads because they rarely exceed the speed limit and this may increase the use of non-environmental-friendly transportation, which leads to global air pollution issues.