It is seen that older adults are not given enough respect and facilities in many countries. What could be reason for this? What are the effects of this?

It is widely known that many people do not regard to elderly, then they are not provided with enough public facilities to support their life. Overall, I would say that the weakness of elder people is the main reason whereas the high risk of physical and mental regression could be the effects of the phenomenon. In my opinion, the main reason that could be considered is most of the elderly have a high level of dependency. It could be the reason due to their disability to control their physical and mental health, which are related to cognitive and affective disturbances. For instance, my parent and my grandparent are older folk with incredible problems every single day so the primary caregiver should involve in all aspects such as preparing food, personal hygiene, and self-care. Moreover, as family members, my parents could not join some occasions actively as they have osteoporosis or osteoarthritis conditions. Furthermore, the public did not respect and realised the presence of my parents. The effects of this phenomenon are the more society do not help and provide the facility for the older population around them, the more worst their physical and mental health conditions among them. It is due to the lack of support systems that are needed during the rest of their life. For example, in Malang, most public facilities are provided to support many activities for children, teenagers, and young adults. However, only a few facilities are available for the older population and the primary caregiver. Another effect is mental regression among them could happen more often because they did not get any stimulation from society. It is such an incredible moment when the elderly are ignored by the community and psychological issues might happen like depression and agitation. In addition, the government as the policymaker should have coordinate with the elderly organization to socialize the importance of regard for the older community as a positive value for human beings. In conclusion, a high level of dependency on the elderly might be the one that causes the public to have less respect for the group. Meanwhile, the group is really relying on the younger community to fulfil their basic human needs. Subsequently, the understanding regarding mental and physical conditions should be introduced to the public in order to help each other.