Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In these modern days, processed foods and fizzy drinks are quite popular and they contain high level of sugar which can cause multiple health issues. It is argued that their prices should be higher in order to reduce sugar consumption. I totally agree with that as it would help decrease causing multiple diseases as well as make the population pick up better choices for their health. First, setting higher prices for sugary products can lessen sugar intake as it would become unaffordable by everyone. Also, it is human nature that humankind is more likely to make impulsive purchase on cheap items while hesitate to spend on expensive ones. For instance, nowadays, the soft drinks such as Coca Cola, Sprite and Pepsi are widely consumed all over the world just because their prices are so cheap that even the lower class people can afford them. Thus, the crowds that have sugar teeth are easily accessible to those sugary foods and drinks and consuming more than the recommended daily intake of sugar which leads to health problems such as the diabetes, heart disease and etc. Therefore, some dangerous diseases can be curbed by restricting sugar intake and that can be achieved by increasing the prices of sugary foodstuffs. Secondly, higher prices of manufactured foods and drinks encourage individuals to consider alternative options. They would think swapping sugar for other healthier choices. For example, if the soft drinks are more expensive than the fruits, it’s more likely the latter would be selected to buy over the former. That is an effective way of pushing the society to make the right decision for eating healthy foods. In conclusion, I would argue that sugary products should be more expensive because that helps the persons to think twice before buying for consumption and also give them awareness of having healthier alternatives.