Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people may think that raising gasoline costs is the best approach to reduce traffic and pollution. Nevertheless, allocating more funds to research is a more reasonable way to achieve this. This essay disagrees with that If petrol prices were increased there would be negative consequences for the economy. The reason for this is that most of the physical goods we consume are transported at least one time in the distribution chain. therefore, raising gasoline prices will make those products more expensive. For example, Fruits are shipped from farms to central markets and then they are transported to groceries. Another problem is that if only one country increases taxes, other countries will consume the petrol that was not spent in that country. For instance,if the USA reduced their consumption, oil companies would lose money unless they sell it to another country. consequently, instead of solving the issue, it is only relocating it. Increasing the money in scientific research can be much more efficient. Firstly, new more efficient ways of transportation can be developed. This will have the opposite effect than raising artificially gasoline costs: good prices will fall because it will be cheaper to transport them. For example, electric trains are more efficient and they do not emit carbon dioxide into the atmosphere and because they do not travel on routes or streets, the traffic is free from the trucks that would have to move those products if the train did not exist. Secondly, new sources of energy can be used to reduce the dependence on oil. Solar panels and wind turbines are examples of this. To sum up, increasing the price of petrol is not the best approach because it would negatively affect the economy. Allocating more funds to scientific research is much more efficient.