Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign languge can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people believe that one of the biggest social and practical challenges living abroad faces is the language barrier. This essay partly agrees with this notion for some reasons. Language is an essential part that everyone needs to use in any case. Communication skills will be limited when people live in other countries that use another language. It leads to many different issues, including social and practical problems. If the foreigners speak their language, people who speak the native language will not understand what they are trying to convey. The inability to speak the local language may negatively affect one’s daily activities. For example, some people find it hard to go shopping at the local market. At their workplace, they may face many problems. Foreigners need to be able to speak with other people in their company. If they struggle with language, they may be unable to express their ideas. Because of that, language trouble can affect the probability of promotion. As a result, these individuals often doubt themselves and feel underconfident. Moreover, the administration will not be able to manage the foreigners because they cannot communicate with them. Therefore, the government needs to pay a lot of money to hire translators to help them communicate. Differences in different languages can lead to misunderstandings in communication. There are so many languages in so many countries in the world. There aren’t any languages that are the same way to express ideas, vocabulary, and the way to enunciating. Even though people in the UK and the USA both speak English, when they talk together, there are still many misunderstandings because of their different accents and the way to provide their speech. English is an international language, so many people speak it. But in other countries, English is not always the same because people usually mix their native language with English. For those reasons, I think that living in a country with poor access to the local language is challenging, both social and practical, for some people.