Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, most individuals think free social services such as assisting charities, improving rural areas, and teaching sports should be included in the high school education system. Personally, I completely disagree with this idea because it will affect the study of students in school. Specifical, the main reason is students have own responsibilities, such as homework or studying for an extra hour because students have many subjects in school to study within a limited period of time. As a result, their education could be more tired and neglected. For example, in my school, some students who participated in a few clubs in the period time have dropped out of class because they could not balance the time between studying and aiding their club. Moreover, during this time period, the majority of students are immature. Because they are unable to efficiently manage service programs, they may experience challenges and discontent when carrying out such duties, among others. Furthermore, it would instill a bad attitude toward unpaid community duty from a young age. As a result, they may lose interest in providing such kinds of services in the future. Furthermore, another main reason is that the government should plan ahead of time and encourage spending. As a result, a student’s responsibilities may be reduced. In Japan, for example, the government frequently assists people in community services. Then, everyone has all benefits from this, especially people who live in the countryside. In conclusion, free community activities for youths should not be mandatory, it is the responsibility of the government. Instead of unpaid work such as free community services, schools should prioritize the studying of students. (27x)