Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued by some that students graduating from high school should not directly get enrolled in a university. Rather, they should spend a year travelling or getting in a job. This essay will first demonstrate that the advantages of doing this are getting some real-world experience and receiving time to discover one’s goals in life. On the contrary, it will also be discussed that the main drawbacks are losing interest in undergraduate studies and forgetting the lessons learnt in high school. Educational institutions safeguard pupils from the harsh reality of the outside world. They remain too naive while studying, but working in a company or touring some destinations might accustom them to the outside world. For example, many pupils believe that doing a job is much easier than studying for exams, failing to realize they are spending some of the best days of their lives. In addition to that, many high-school graduates are confused about their future profession. If they get a break to think, they would be able to choose more wisely. A study showed that disciples taking a gap year before joining undergraduate studies are more likely to achieve better results than their peers. Hence, taking a gap year can help students to understand the responsibilities of an adult and assist them in their career choices decision. On the other hand, students taking a gap from study feel reluctant to rejoin later. As they become busy with other tasks, they do not get the space to think about their education. It is seen that a high percentage of disciples starting a job after high school do not want to quit it after some months. Also, students forget many important topics after temporarily discontinuing their studies. In a survey, it was shown that after staying disconnected for a while, 40% of the students do not remember how to solve calculus problems. As a result, taking a break from learning can refrain students from continuing it later and prompt them to lose some of the lessons from memory. In conclusion, there are benefits of taking a break before joining college; like receiving practical experience and buying more time to choose a career path. However, the disadvantages that follow are not pursuing higher education altogether and forgetting certain topics.