Some people think that the increase in international travel has a negative impact on the environment and should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, climate change is a pressing problem, which requires humanity to as much as possible its emissions. As a result, it is argued that since international travelling negatively affects the environment, it should be limited. Although I believe that reducing international travels will undoubtely lower green gases emissions, I believe this is not the best way to tackle pollution-related issues. To begin with, restricting international travels will affect people negatively. This is because many people live far away from their homes and their families, thus air travelling is the only way for them to come back home. A person who lives abroad enjoys the idea of having the chance to catch a flight and come back home whenever needed. If people were deprived of the possibility to do so, they would certainly feel anxious and miserable, and they will probably develop negative feelings towards the government. This might lead to protests and strikes against the Administration and its decision. Moreover, a limitation in travels will affect some countries’ economies in a negative way. This is because a majority of these countries’ incomes are tourism-related, thus preventing people from travelling abroad would cause consistent losses to those nations since those places can only reach by plane. If governments cut international flights, reaching those islands would be impossible, such as it happened during the Covid-19 pandemic. This damaged undoubtedly the local economies, and cause economic crisis. To conclude, although limiting international commuting will benefit the environment, it will have negative effects on people ’s happiness and most countries’ economies. This is why do not believe this represents the best way to deal with climate change, and that alternative solutions must be explored.