It should be more expensive to make sugary products less appealing to consumers in order to encourage them to consume less Many manufactured foods and drinks contain high levels of sugar, which can cause many health problems. Do you agree or disagree?

Excessive consumption of added sugar is the main culprit for most of the health issues we face today. Even if, sweets usage must be monitored and regulated, I disagree with the notion of making a product expensive in order for people to consume it less. So herein, I present my reasons for the same. Firstly, increasing the price point of any good is not a sustainable solution. A problem’s root must be addressed in order to have long-lasting results. Educating people about the adverse effects of carbohydrate consumption on their bodies will help to address the issue. For example, people in general, seek solace in sweets to get an instant rush of energy, for comfort and as part of emotional eating. Though they see results right away, they need to be taught about moderation and mindfulness. Furthermore, craving sweets all the time is actually categorised as an addiction too. Despite all this, we might be able to achieve a healthy place when doctors take the initiative and conduct training programs and counsel their patients on the potential risks. In addition, the introduction of natural sugars like jaggery, brown sugar etc. can replace processed sweet enhancers, give the same taste but with lesser health hazards. For instance, if manufacturers can introduce products that are made with natural sugars it will make a person enjoy their comfort food and not risk their health in the process. To conclude, I believe increasing the price point is not the solution. Moreover,the same results can be achieved by providing awareness and alternate options to the public.