Computer games are becoming very popular among children of all ages and nationalities. Parents say they are concerned because these games have little educational value and many harmful effects. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, computer games are very widely used by children, internationally. This trend is becoming a concern for parents because they think that gaming infects the younger generation with some detrimental problems like weakening eyesight and sedentary habits. In this essay, I am going to explain why I agree with them. In the first instance, younger children are experiencing increasing levels of vision problems. For example, they are viewing the computer screen for an average of two hours per day and the light from the screen is affecting their ability to see clearly. If the situation is not corrected, more and more children will have to wear prescription glasses. Secondly, when youngsters sit for an average of two hours before a computer, it means that they don't have enough time to be physically active in games and sports. So, this could result in health problems like overweight, lack of fitness, muscular weakness etc. which in turn will impact their holistic development and make them misfits in their social interactions. To conclude, with all of the examples that I have listed above, I agree that the thoughts of the elders are founded in truth. Hence, parents will have to find ways of motivating their offspring to combine gaming with sports and interactions with friends at least for half an hour a day to break the habit. The government can support parents' initiatives by taxing gaming software and hardware thus making it tougher for users to access online games. On the other hand, they can award initiatives that promote outdoor activities among youngsters.