In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rising prevalence of childhood obesity and related health issues attracted polarized debate on possible interventions. Arguably, tackling this multi-faced debate is complicated, and some people turn to the government as a significant liability while others point finger at all other sectors in society. I completely agree with the statement that the government is mainly obliged to reduce obesity since it’s their role to bring up healthy citizens, and it’s proven to be most effective. In the first place, the primary role of government is to raise healthy children who are hopes of tomorrow. It is their job to safeguard public welfare. Just like the empowering ideal made by Abraham Lincoln that government of the people, by the people, for the people ” shall do what’s best for its people. A good example in point is the French government which achieved the lowest obesity rates of childhood obesity among development countries. It not only passed down strict policies for school canteens to follow but also promoted healthy food culture for children to “eat the rainbow”. Additionally, a top-down governmental approach, delivered at a macro-scale, is most effective at changing public health outcomes. Only a holistic, broad and systematic method can successfully reverse the obesity crisis. In other words, the education sector, the food and beverage industry, and the communities cannot intervene without help from the government. There is robust evidence from from world research centers suggesting that governmental policies and population-based program produce long-term positive changes. Take China’s Double-Reduction policy for example. This new education policy called for alleviating students’ burden and was proved to be an aggressive move. Now, an increasing number of parents encourage their children to practice sports after school instead of doing homework. In conclusion, the government should be held accountable for preventing obesity. As a protagonist in addressing children’s weight problems, it has incomparable force in applying official interventions.