Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many countries have a set of traditions from the past that creates who they are and how they approach actions which often conflicts with newer innovative ways of approaching problems. This essay will look into the balance of how much traditions should determine life and how much society should be open to innovation. Traditions help society to feel have a common background and celebrate culture; provided that people have a common background, they tend to feel united which helps with supporting each other and growing together. Dutch people, for instance, have the tradition to collaborate in politics, even when they have opposing views, thereby they can make effective compromises to attain common goals. This is an example of how traditions have helped in the past and will help society in the future. But innovation, and a common statement of " that is the way we have always done it", do hamper progress in some areas. Energy creation relies in some countries heavily on coal and state which is simply the way the country has run for decades, without re-considering what would work best for themselves. As a result of following traditions, individuals and society as a whole might forego better suitable options by allowing innovation to steer them in a new direction. Considering the two points above, I think that a limited amount of tradition is important for society to create common goals. Even though traditions are important, to do better in the world we have to be open to letting go of some previous ways of doing and look into innovative ways to find solutions. In conclusion, both traditions, as well as innovation, innovation have benefits, but in my opinion it is the innovation that will create a better world.