Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Other say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A lot of people do not see the need of being multibilingual unless a need arose, for instance an opportunity to relocate to another nation, a great job offer in another country, business opportunity or even travelling for leisure. Learning another language sounds a bit hectic especially if you are not going to use it, but who knows, life is just unpredictable, its much better to have idea of differnt languages than being completly blank, one might need it in the near future. I think schools should include in their curriculum basic learning of different languages from different nations as a preparation for their future, especially the main languages that are used in many nations. For example in Africa Swahili is spoken by many African countries, hence i am of opinion that it should be taught in schools at basic level just for communication. French, Germany, portuguise and English should also be taught from the lowest grade to high school, then at tertiary students can choose which of the languages do they want to persue peruse. My biological sister did french in high school a couple of years back, then at tertiary she did not persue it becasuse she did not see the need for it though she passed it with flying colors. She did her degree in law, when she completed there was a post adertised by United Nations in their law firm and one of the requirements was knowledge of French, she applied for the post and she was shortlisted for an interview and she was appointed for the post, that was the greatest opportunity of a life time, she is still working for United Nations and her life changed dramatically. Not only should being multibilingual be limited to traveling or working in another country, but its great opportunity for culture exchange, knowledge and great relationships. In conclusion, lets learn as many languages as we can.