In some countries, more and more people are becoming interesting in finding out about the history of the house or building they lived in. What are the reason for this? How can people research this?

Residents in some countries are wondering about the past of the place they live in. The main reason for that is they have a feeling of attachment to the building so they try to find the information by asking people in the neighbourhood. Building as their possession surely attracts people's curiosity. People want to know the meaning or stories behind some features in the house as now it become theirs. For example, the reason why the master bedroom faces a certain direction, facing toward sunset is because the previous owner believes in feng shui. Besides, people's authority also enlightens their curiosity about the place. They think knowing their house better, especially regarding the function, is mandatory. This question about their home was answered by gathering information from their surrounding, asking people who lived around their house, especially residents who have been living in the area for generations. For example, asking elder people, the stories of the past owners. For the technical informations they also can get the material from the authority throughout the building permit document. To sum up, people want to feel belong to the place that is why the history of their house becomes appealing.  The community in the area become the resource of the information.