In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of this phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

In this contemporary epoch, a myriad of athletes take doping drugs to increase their physical performance. This essay will examine the main causes of doping and possible solutions to this problem. Firstly, most sports women and men take illegal substances inorder to improve recovery. Athletes that use drugs in sports often do so to treat health ailments(quick fix) to avoid missing events. Many sports can lead to serious health diseases that require long term medication before being allowed to work. For instance, mountain climbers usually sustain serious physical injuries which require painkillers. Because of that,many athletes buy illegal substance to suppress the pain. Furthermore, weak athletes long to achieve success by improving performance. A key number of drugs work on the body to enhance physical endurance during activity. For example, steroids increase muscle weight. For that reason, sports that require muscle strength, increase risk of doping by athletes. Some possible solutions to this problem are encouraging athletes to seak professional help and encouraging sport organisers to categorising competitions. By postponing matches and avoiding benching athletes during active recovery. This, will encourage sports men and women to seek professional help after physical injuries and access right treatment without missing any games. Moreover, sport Committees must group athletes according to their age, weight and height. This will give every competitor equal advantage. Thus, reducing doping among athletes. In conclusion, athletes are prone to physical injuries which can drastically affect performance for a long period of time and stiff competition can compel athletes to dope. However, we can significantly lessen the burden by categorising competitions when designing the programme. Also, finding alternatives for the sick players of prohibiting.