Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their car?

Ownning a private car has been viewed as a norm for years, which was resulted in conversation convertion of streets to car parkings parking that are holding up drivers in traffic for hours. I believe that this phenomenon is one of the most important problems that big cities are dealing with. However, a great number of solutions are being suggested by experts. The following essay will overlook the reasons that support my idea and will be proceeding with some solutions. To begin, the rapid increase of private vehicles and the subsequent traffic are rooted in human nature. Firstly, mankind likes convenience and once they experience it, avoidance of it would be impossible for them. For example, if the young generation commute by their personal cars and feel its freedom, they will not accept to use the crowded and scheduled public transportation anymore. Consequently, every household has more than one car nowadays, which are usually being droven by only one passenger. Moreover, human is a clever creature, who always finds a better way to reach their destinations. To illustrates, they try to find a new way with a lower traffic concentration, which helps for a while but gradually gets crowded because of the inappropriate cities streets' design. Thus, the traffic will destribute to each street around the towns, and those places become like a colossal parking areas. Despite the above-said reasons being irrefutable, the solutions are feasible. One of the practical solutions is for the government to provide a public transportation that compete with private cars. Although it seems implausible, people might be tempted to return to those means by a reasonable fee and providing modern vehicles. Furthermore, most of those towns require new design that would be compatible with their new inquiries. For instance, modifying old streets to improve their capacities will solve this issue. Therefore, cars will not stuck in the narrow avenues and traffic will decrease. To sum up, the considerable growth of four-wheel vehicles and the traffic jams over recent years have become a difficult challenge for humans. I believe that human's tendency to convenience and their ability to solve a problem based on their benefits for a short period have resulted in it, and improvement of public transportation and cities' street design will solve it.