Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many ailments stem from using processed foods and drinks that have a lot of sugar. Provided that sugar products were more costly, people would buy and use them less. In my opinion, making unhealthy products more expensive is a viable solution. It is my view that the high price of manufactured and processed foods and drinks can control the high demand for buying these products because when these foods and drinks are available at a very affordable price, people tend to buy them more. From a psychological viewpoint, being expensive a product can prevent individuals from purchasing it. Therefore, people will encourage to eat nourishing foods and home-cooked meals. It is an undeniable fact that when prices of sugary products are higher than normal, people try not to buy them and they have to manage their money for buying other necessary goods. Hence, these unhealthy foods and drinks will eliminate their eating habit. For example, instead of buying expensive juice, they buy more fresh products. In contrast, some people claim that increasing the prices of sugary products is not a reasonable solution and cause an unbalanced impact on the economy. They firmly insist that if the government increased the prices of these products, it would put the economy in danger. However, I do not find this argument convincing since people eat more foods and drinks which contain a high amount of sugar, they will face daunting health problems. As a result, they have to pay more money for medicines and health care, and it causes more economic crises. In conclusion, I completely agree with raising sugary products because it makes people not buy them and leads to decreasing less unhealthy products. Moreover, it helps the government to manage its money for essential health problems.