More and more young people are not interested in working as a teacher. What do you think are the causes? What can be done to encourage young people to choose a teaching career?

The choice to work as a teacher has been losing popularity among young job seekers. I think that their lack of interest in this profession may be due to unsatisfying salaries and unappealing job routines. The government needs to take steps to change this situation. The first reason for the shortage of younger teachers is that a teaching job pays poorly in many countries. With the rising cost of living, such a low income can hardly allow younger teachers today to afford what they pursue, such as fashionable clothes or the newest electronic devices. Therefore, it does not come as a surprise that an increasing number of young adults choose other careers which allow them to enjoy better salaries and higher quality of life. Another cause is that what a teacher is expected to do on a daily basis seems to be repetitive and boring for graduates. For example, a writing teacher spends hours every day correcting dozens of essays with the same topic and similar mistakes. This pushes most of today’s young people who are interested in creative and challenging job content to other professions, such as movie makers or online shop owners. In order to provide better education, an injection of fresh/new blood is vital for schools, so measures should be taken to encourage more young adults to choose a teaching career. Firstly, the government could make teaching a more appealing job simply by raising teachers’ salaries. With pay raises, young people pursuing a high quality of life may consider becoming a teacher. In addition, educational authorities should allow teachers more freedom to plan and manage their classes. In this way, boredom and repetitiveness of teaching may stop keeping young people out of school. In summary, the gap between what a teacher pays and earns may be the main reason why young adults are reluctant to work for education. The government should assume more responsibility for reversing the situation.