Some people think it is a good idea for students to take a gap year to travel or gain work experience before starting university. Others think gap years are a waste of time. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In many countries, there is a growing tendency of young people to take a year off between finishing high school and starting their academic studies. This period which is known as "gap year " provides a multitude of benefits but also has some drawbacks which should be taken into consideration. First of all, through this year, students have the chance to explore the world as well as making an internship in a foreign country. In particular, travelling is a considerable opportunity for a young person to discover their real interests. For instance, embarking on a big trip is an attempt for socialising, engaging in volunteering as well as broadening our horizons. As a result, taking a year off goes hand in hand with discovering their real passion which is the foundation stone for a fulfilling career. Moreover, gap year encourage students to find their qualifications and skills, as a high majority of graduates choose to find a job as an intern. Thus, through this initiative, they may realise what they really do in the future as well as enhancing their cognitive ability and their communication skills alike. On the other hand, taking a year off often could be a burden for a student's future. A case in point is that many students in order to earn much money as they can in this time, they forget their principal goal of studying. In addition, there is an increasing percentage of young students who are end up being disoriented due to this relaxing period of time. Last but not least, studying abroad is a responsibility which should be taken up from all students, but the most of them are not mature enough to leave their families back and choose to extent this privileging year. In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that taking a year off has a lot benefits for a student. However,I firmly believe that this decision depends on student's ambitions. If a student deside decide to do a break, it would definitely do a significant contribution to their overall mental development.