some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

The design of urban areas nowadays has become a significant issue. Some people believe that increase in the number of trees and parks in cities is a necessity while others opine that open spaces ought to be dedicated to building new homes. I, myself, agree with the former one and in the forthcoming paragraphs, I will clarify my point of view. Cities could benefit from planting in many ways. To begin with, it could be helpful in reducing air pollution which is one of the most challenging problems in cities, especially in metropolitan ones. This is, if an area has more trees, it will have a more qualified atmosphere since trees have been one of the main contributors to purification. It, itself, would lead to reducing the number of people suffering from chronic diseases like asthma, respiratory and heart disease. Northern cities of Iran which are designated as the most verdurous parts of this country could be the best example, as the rate of such diseases is significantly less than in the other parts of Iran. Furthermore, building new houses in urban areas would lead to overpopulation in a given part. As a result, there will be traffic congestion which could make a number of problems for residents, including air and noise pollution, wasting a lot of time in traffic jams, etc. For example, in Tehran, the capital of Iran, because of a sprawling city during rush hours, crowds got stuck in gridlock for hours every day. However, some people opine that due to the increasing tendency of living in metropolia and towns the need for the construction of buildings is necessary. As a consequence, the empty areas in towns ought to be dedicated to new houses in order to accommodate more human kinds. To conclude, although the creation of new accommodations for those who want to live in cities is important, planting has more positive points and could prevent many problems such as traffic and air pollution.