As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society?

Due to the development of society, a significant number of people prefer to live alone or have a nuclear family. There are certain reasons to as why they want a such trend, and there are some influences which should be taken into consideration. To begin with, it is generally acknowledged by certain individuals that having a big familiy unit causes a financial issue. As the number of population over the world have increased, they suffer from a lack of acommodation, thereby leading to the increment of price of houses. Therefore, individuals have chosen to live alone or with a small number of family members to rent a small house which is cheaper than a big one. For example, a survey conducted by the Korean Labour Foundation has revealed that almost 20% of young adults have a tendancy to live alone or with their spauses without kids since they cannot deal with priceless houses. As the example clearly illustrates, expensive house fee is a key factor in having a nuclear family. However, there are some problems are released from the such trend. Firstly, as the number of couples decreases, birth rates also go down. Therefore, the population of young adults is smaller than that of seniors. For instance, recent media in Korea reports that each young adult supports almost three seniors. Hence, it is reasonable to point out that it is stressful among younsters. Moreover, some individuals who live alone might be neglected. Not only does small number families or living alone hard to be helped, but it may also bring about devasting consequences such as an emergency. In this regards, in Korea, some individuals die alone, and are found a few days later which sounds miserable. In conclusion, as the matter of the fact that many individuals tend to live alone or with small number of family members in a contemporary society, the birth rates increasingly decrease and some are neglected in an emergency situation.