Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is generally acknowledged by some individuals that some countries gain global success by investing in buildings and equipment for certain sports stars rather than the public. Regarding this, I strongly believe that it is a negative trend as they neglect inhabitants' health. On the one hand, it is a key factor in increasing the reporation of countries by supporting sports equipment and buildings to sports players. In other words, they can enhance the reputation of their countries as they represent their nations. When famous asthlets get a win from an international competition, it enhances the image of their countries. For example, recent media in Korea reports that Yuna Kim who has been supported by the Korean government and became a successful figure skater has increased the Korean reputation. It has priceless worth. As the example clearly illustrates, if it had not been for supporting by the Korean government, the reputation of Korea would have not been increased like at present. On the other hand, governments should spend state-funds making facilities for the public not for few person. While governments have a responsibility to improve public service such as education, health, and trasportation, the population has an authority to use various facilities. As each citizen is a tax player, government should consider citizens which is justifiable. For example, a survey conducted by the Korean government has revealed that almost 20% of inhabitants prefer to use state-funding on public facilities rather than supporting some top asthlets. Hence, it is reasonable to point out that taxpayers hope governments use their taxes for themselves. In conclusion, while I accept that supporting sports stars can sometimes be necessary, there is no doubt to point out that taxpayers deserve their rights to use various exercising facilities.