many countries use fossil fuels as the main source of energy. however, in some countries the use of the alternative sources of energy is encouraged. to what extent do you agree of disagree with this development

Coal, oil and natural gas are major sources of energy all over the world. Of late, authorities have started promoting the use of renewable sources like wind and solar. In my opinion, I completely agree with this development because renewable sources are extremely eco-friendly. Firstly, it is undeniable that the usage of non-renewable resources has increased at an alarming rate. Fossil fuel currently supplies 85% of the world’s energy, but when burned, their carbon emissions are the main contributor to global warming. This leads to several problems like the melting of glaciers in the poles, depletion of the ozone layer and so on. On the other hand, renewable source produces clean energy. Thus, it creates a pollution-free environment and increases the quality of our planet as well as life on earth. For example, the WHO organization reported that there is a dramatic improvement in the air quality in the European countries after they started relying more on solar energy 10 years ago. Secondly, fossil fuel requires millions of years to form from the dead vegetation and animals that get buried deep inside the earth and it cannot be produced in the laboratory as it requires extreme temperature and pressure. Therefore, the use of fossil fuels at this rate will lead to their exhaustion. Besides, it cannot be reused once it is burned. Unlike non-renewable energy, renewable energy is derived from resources that are replenished naturally. In addition, while the initial cost of installation is pretty high, the cost savings over the years easily justify this investment in solar or wind energy. In conclusion, alternative sources of energy should be encouraged because they produce clean and green energy that does not cause any real harm to the environment. Also, these sources are renewable and hence there is no danger of them ever getting exhausted.