Many people today are worried about the large quantities of waste produced by ordinary households. What problems are caused by household waste, and what solutions may be possible in both the short and the long term?

Rapid population growth means that the increasing amount of waste generated by modern households is a burning problem and difficult to solve. The essay below will discuss them, highlighting the main problems and practical solutions to this phenomenon. The inability to treat all domestic waste has caused harmful impacts on the environment and society. To begin with, in terms of the environment, household waste is divided into several categories, from spoiled food and leftovers to plastic, metal, and paper bags are disposed of together. The result has been difficulty handling and sorting recyclable waste. And when this waste is transferred to landfills and then burned, it can result in other problems such as environmental pollution, soil pollution, water pollution, or air pollution. Additionally, the above environmental problem directly affects the people in the surrounding area who live near this location. They will be at risk of respiratory or digestive diseases from breathing unclean air and drinking contaminated water. For example, there are thousands of people living in slums in India who dump their waste into the river and use its water for domestic use and food, so the rate of diarrhea is very high. This trend must be reversed, so steps must be taken to reduce it. Firstly, the government should invest some money in local waste treatment and recycling facilities as a short-term solution. This will aid in the reduction of pollution and environmental issues. Second, a long-term approach is to increase everyone's knowledge of the dangers of improperly disposing of domestic waste. Furthermore, the government should provide free classes or instructional programs on the classification of garbage, forms of recycling, and non-recyclable materials beginning at a young age. Authorities may levy additional fees on non-recyclable and low-quality products in addition to the techniques mentioned above. This will cause consumers to think twice about purchasing them, resulting in fewer non-recyclable waste items. In summary, the main important issues are environmental and social. While we take good measures, this situation will be significantly reduced.