Having a good university degree guarantees people a good job. To what extent do you agree?

It is widely thought that graduating from a reputed university is necessary to be able to find a good position. I agree with this statement to a certain extent, because the university is an appropriate place to build valuable connections and develop essential skills. However, it is not enough to build a successful career. Obtaining a higher education degree could be beneficial for one’s career since people can socialize a lot during their studies. For example, students can unite around an idea and create a start-up, which can grow into a major successful project. Building the network and keeping in touch with like-minded people can be profitable for future business partnerships. Another reason why receiving a university degree could contribute to landing a proper job is the education itself. University programs usually provide valued information that is hard to find. That means that the employer has no need to teach the employee all the necessary skills, as they can assume that the person they hire already has the required knowledge. Therefore, big companies would prefer to hire not a self-taught person, but one with a bachelor’s or master’s degree. On the other hand, one cannot argue that soft skills are not included in university programs. Nevertheless, knowing how to work in a team or how peacefully resolve conflict is a really important part of real-life projects. However, all students have equal opportunities to develop soft skills on a daily basis, by doing team tasks and communicating with classmates. In fact, reputable universities usually have a friendly atmosphere, which helps students to socialize and share knowledge. Therefore, having a diploma is just another reason to consider a person to be a communicative possible colleague. In conclusion, a university provides an opportunity to develop professional and social skills, but it depends on the person if they will use this chance to build a successful career.