Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students’ performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Examinations have always been a way to measure a pupil’s performance in school. But in recent times, there have been an increasing number of people who support the idea that exams are not suitable and should be replaced with continuous assessment. And while I agree with the previous statement, I believe that formal examinations should be maintained. I agree that continual assessment is a great way to check one’s performance because it allows those who struggle working at a fast pace to have more breathing time to work on other subjects or courses to be able to catch up to their classmates. Moreover, teachers will have more chances to observe their pupils in order to assist those who are struggling to catch up with others, giving them more opportunities to improve during the term. While I accept that continuous assessment is one way to check on one’s progress in academic knowledge. examinations also give satisfactory results in accessing students' effort. Firstly, they are the easiest tool to check on students’ capabilities, and it is fair and square because everyone will be doing the same assignment at the same time, meaning that those who work the hardest will receive the best result. Furthermore, they created a competitive environment among the students which will encourage them to work harder in order to have better results compared to other pupils. In conclusion, I think that both continuous assessment and examinations are very effective in their own ways. Therefore, both methods should be used accordingly in assessing students’ abilities.