Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students’ performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Examinations have long been used to evaluate a student’s academic performance, however, there are people who believe that exams are no longer fitting for the current age and therefore should be replaced by continuous assessment. The following essay discusses the writer’s point of view. As can be seen, the latter is easily the superior option. As while once-in-a-while examinations give students much more time to prepare, if unfortunately the student does not feel well that day and did the test badly, it can result in a long-lasting detrimental effect to one’s academic career. On the other hand, by periodically performing tests, pupils may opt to use their best performance for the ultimately best results. Relieving their burden and overall pressure, furthermore this does not stress the students out as much as the very occasional tests, seeing as one simple mistake can cost them a lot. Overall, the format of examinations is no longer suitable for the current age, seeing that continuous assessment is a superior method, we should resolve to doing that instead.